top of page




Curriculum for Excellence (often shortened to CfE) is the curriculum in Scotland which applies to all children and young people age 3-18, wherever they are learning. It aims to raise achievement for all, enabling young people to develop the skills, knowledge and understanding they need to succeed in learning, life and work. 


The Four Capacities - the curriculum aims for all children to become:

  • Successful Learners

  • Confident Individuals

  • Responsible Citizens

  • Effective Contributors


The Eight Curriculum areas are:

  •  Expressive Arts – including art and design, dance, drama and music

  • Health and Wellbeing – mental, emotional , social and physical wellbeing, PE, food and health, substance misuse and relationships, sexual health and parenthood

  • Languages – listening and talking, reading and writing in literacy and English and modern languages, plus classical languages and literacy and Gaidhlig/Gaelic learners (where available)

  • Mathematics – including analyzing information, solving problems and assessing risk

  • Religious and Moral Education (denominational and non-denominational) learning about Christianity, other world religions, and developing values and beliefs

  • Sciences – understanding important scientific concepts across planet Earth, forces, electricity and waves, biological systems, materials and topical science

  • Social Studies – understanding people, place and society in the past and present including history, geography, modern studies and business education

  • Technologies – including computing science, food, textiles, craft, design, engineering, graphics and applied technologies





There are national levels to describe different stages of learning and progress. For 

most children the expectation is:


Early Level

  • pre-school to the end of P1


First Level

  • P2 to the end of P4


Second Level

  • P5 to the end of P7


Third & Fourth Levels

  • S1 to S3, with the fourth level broadly equivalent to SCQF level 4


Senior Phase

  • S4-S6, and equivalents in other settings, where they can continue to develop the four capacities and achieve qualifications



bottom of page